Hosted by the Cruising Yacht Club of Australia, the Sydney Hobart Yacht Race is a world famous annual event scheduled on the Boxing Day of every year. The cruising race starts on 26th of December 2018 in Sydney, New South Wales and finishes in Hobart, Tasmania within a few days. Initiated in 1945, the Sydney Hobart Yacht Race is a colourful and vibrant event which is ideal for the entire family to enjoy in a carnival atmosphere. Face painting, popcorn, live music, food and drinks stalls, game screens,  live streaming of the start and everything in between can be expected on this eventful day to keep everyone happy.

Around 130 yachts take part in this battle every year. This year too a fleet of 107 and in excess of 1000 sailors will be contesting the toughest ocean race crossing the infamous Bass Strait. The race is approximately 630 nautical miles.

History of the Race

It was Peter Luke and his friends who first planned this cruise and later formed it into a racing event by British Royal navy Officer, Captain John Illingworth.  Since then the event has been scheduled every year on the Boxing Day.

On this day crowds gather along the Sydney Harbour to cheer and bid farewell to the brave yachties who are facing this gruelling challenge. Days later, spectators line up at the finishing point at Hobart  to cheer the first yacht to arrive at the harbour.

Past Winners of the Race

LDV Comanche set a new race record last year (2017), reaching the finishing line in 1 day, 9 hrs, 15 minutes and 24 seconds, beating Perpetual Loyal’s record set in 2016. It is remarkable to mention Wild Oats XI’s victory in the years 2005–2008, 2010, 2012–2014 and also the first boat to have claimed the treble – race record, line honours and overall winner.

Adrienne Cahalan was the first woman to compete in 25 Sydney Hobart Races in the history of the race in 2016.


There are many trophies presented under different categories for each year’s winners. Tatersall Cup for the overall winner on handicap, Alan Payne Memorial Trophy for the designer of the winning yacht, Bill Owen Memorial Trophy – for the navigator of the overall winner on handicap, Apollo Trophy – for the first yacht under 18.5 metres to finish, Polish Trophy – for the yacht that travels the furthest to compete in the race and plenty of silverware for other winners.

For Spectators:

For those interested in watching the start of the race, we recommend to stick to the western side of the harbour.  As the harbour will be crowded, spectators are advised to stay alert of traffic congestion and limited spaces will be available on the CYCA official spectator vessel.

For further information please visit the official website at: http://rolexsydneyhobart.com/ 

Watch Live on Television: The Seven Network and ABC TV will broadcast the live coverage of the event.

Watch on the Web: Watch the live broadcast of the start of the Race on Seven Network across Australia, if you are unable to watch the live broadcast on television. You can also watch the live webcast on the official website of the Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race website.

Follow the event via Social Media: On twitter for race updates http://twitter.com/rshyr and via Facebook https://www.facebook.com/RolexSydneyHobart

Watch the Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race in 2017 when Jim Cooney and LDV Comanche secured the line honours victory in a record time of 1 day, 9 hours, 15 minutes and 24 seconds breaking the record of 2016.

Re-live the best moments of the 628-nautical-mile course of Sydney Hobart Yacht Race in 2017, from the start out of Sydney Harbour